Skilled Visas

The General Skilled Migration program is the pathway for skilled individuals who want to move to Australia.

Applicants must satisfy the basic requirements at the time the visa application is submitted to the Department of Immigration. The following reflects the current rules:

  • Aged under 45
  • A positive skills assessment from the appropriate assessing authority in the nominated occupation, which must appear on one or more of the skilled occupations lists
  • State/ Territory Government sponsorship, for applications under subclasses 190 and 489

In addition applicants must pass a points test, the components of which include:

  • Age
  • Nominated occupation
  • English language competency
  • Skilled employment in Australia and overseas
  • Qualifications
  • Sponsorship by a State or Territory Government
  • Partner skills

Visa applicants and dependents must also satisfy health and character requirements.

The skilled visa subclasses most commonly encountered by us are:

  • 189, Skilled Independent
  • 190, Skilled Sponsored
  • 489, Skilled, Nominated or Sponsored (Provisional)

Those who are interested in skilled migration to Australia should be aware that Australia’s Immigration Minister issues instructions to his Department requiring them to process certain applications before others – the choice of visa subclass can make a significant difference to visa application processing times.

Please contact Ian Harrop & Associates if you are interested in skilled migration to Australia.

Need help?

If you have any questions or need help choosing the right visa, please call us or complete the form below and we'll get back to you as soon as we can.

Enquiry form




AustraliaNew Zealand




Please re-enter: captcha